Digital TV by satellite

Australians who can’t receive digital TV services from transmission towers in their area will be able to access the full range of digital TV programming from the new digital TV satellite service.

The Viewer Access Satellite Television (VAST) service will be operated by Southern Cross Media and Imparja, and is funded by the Australian Government. It will ensure access to free-to-air TV for viewers in the Remote Central and Eastern Australia licence area, and those in regional and metropolitan areas who are unable to receive their local TV services terrestrially.

This includes standard definition programming broadcast by Southern Cross Media and Imparja, sourced from the Seven, Nine and Ten commercial networks and their new digital channels GO!, 7TWO and ONEHD, as well as all of the ABC and SBS channels, including ABC2, ABC3 and SBS TWO.

The VAST service will also provide high definition channels and a dedicated local news channel in addition to state-based ABC and SBS news services on their respective channels.

The first viewers to have access to VAST will be in the Mildura/Sunraysia region which is the first region to switch to digital only free-to-air television on 30 June 2010.

VAST will cover eastern Australia and operate in northern and southern time zones.

The satellite service for viewers in Western Australia is under negotiation with Prime and WIN Television.

Find out more information about VAST, including technical specifications here

Eligible viewers will be able to activate their access ‘smart cards’ online by going to

Related news